Reality show child star Honey Boo and her family are reportedly being paid $40,000 for their tv series. Did you just holler, “IS THAT ALL?!” I know I did.  Ok, for all of the foolery of the RHOA and the rest of the shows, at least they had sense enough to cash in on the nonsense.

But this brings me to a truth that my big sister Sarah shared with me. When I travel with her, she’s always quick to tell me to “Act like you’re used to having something nice”. That means no oo’n and ahh’n at the hotel we’re staying in or the rental car we’re driving, or taking pictures of the room like I’m a tourist. At first, I didn’t understand because I was genuinely impressed with our nice hotel room that she booked and the spiffy rental car. But as time went on, I understood. When you act like you aint ever had nothing in your life that comes close to being good, you end up like Honey Boo Boo’s family: taking somebody’s peanut offer when you deserve so much more!

Ladies, there’s nothing wrong with a man doing nice things for you. But for goodness sake, don’t send a mass text to all of your friends just because he buys your lunch or buys you a card.

What you’re saying to everyone looking is that for you, being treated with love and respect isn’t the norm but something that happens every now and then. Wives know this little secret. Now it’s time that single women knew it too.

Nothing screams insecurity like constantly advertising things about your relationship that should come standard. Windows in a car should roll down automatically. The steering wheel should turn. Likewise, a man you’re dealing with SHOULD do thoughtful things for you.

But if that’s the message you’re sending to other women with your oo’n and ahh’n in relationships, imagine what that says to HIM?

I’m not a man so I can’t be certain, but if I took a guess, I’m sure it would be, “It don’t take much to have her caught up”.

Right.

Am I saying you should be ungrateful, mean and heartless? Absolutely not. Use your God given manners and common sense too. Saying “thank you” for a thoughtful gesture is appropriate and fitting. Tweeting all 300 of your followers and starting an Instagram devoted to his gift giving is taking it a bit too far.

You get the picture.

It’s high time us single women began to act like we’re used to being treated with respect, dignity and love, even if we’re not. Maybe you never had a relationship where a man treated you good. That doesn’t mean you have to go overboard in showing your gratitude when a man that does respect you comes into your life. It’s time to relax and stand strong in your confidence as a woman that you are worthy of love and honor.

When you’re sitting at a nice restaurant, you deserve to be there.

When you’re given flowers, cards and candy you deserve to have them.

When he writes a love note and comes by to visit you when you’re sick, you deserve his attention.

If you don’t think you deserve to be treated well, then why should he?

And unfortunately, we become the Honey Boo Boo’s of the dating game when we “ooo” and “ahh” at the first sign of male niceties.

Don’t get short changed ladies.

You deserve the best!

